Misunderstood

Well, I haven’t written a blog like this in a while. Since I can’t do a regular podcast, this is the next best thing. Tonight I have been thinking about things. Perhaps I have been thinking too much, but at this point in time,  I have to get my feelings out there.

If you know me personally, you’ll know that I take pride in the things that I do. At school, I maintain an A/B average and am always on my best behavior as not to disturb other students in the learning process. At home, I help my parents run a business by answering phone calls, emails, maintaining websites, and making sure our office equipment such as computers is running smoothly. This is something I don’t think one would find a normal teenager doing. It is my dream to go to college and succeed and get a degree in Business Administration and minor in Web Design. I am very close to making this dream a reality. I graduate high school on May 30th, 2013. This date is about four months away as of the current date. I am determined to get good grades for the rest of the year and graduate with pride at both of my graduations. (For those of you who don’t know; I am currently enrolled in a career school where you learn a trade – I am in Media & Video Production at said school.) My first graduation is not really a graduation per se. It is more a recognition of completing your Junior and Senior years at the career school. My actual graduation is the later date I mentioned above. However, my last day of school will be May 10th and I will have to wait until the 30th. Currently, I maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.3/4.0, which isn’t too hateful in my opinion. I am ranked 17/77 in my class at my home school (the school I went to before the career school from Kindergarten to Sophomore year). So, I don’t consider myself a failure by any means.

The reason I am going into all of this is because it seems as if I am looked upon by my parents as a failure and someone who is going to go out and make bad decisions. Yes, all of us make bad decisions. I’ve made some pretty terrible ones as of this current date. I have been yelled at for not applying for scholarships, when I have applied for 15+ scholarships already, my car has been taken away from me, and I am basically locked down until I graduate. This happened because for one night I wanted to go out with my friends and have some fun. I took my two friends (who will be referred to as) R and A to have some fun. We went to the movies, we went to Walmart and shopped, and we had some fun for one night. Well, this was apparently unacceptable to my mother, whom gave me a huge lecture about how I am ruining my life by being around them and that they are going to get me in trouble. She also went into saying that they distracted my driving and that I was going to text and drive and all of this stupid crap. I can tell you right now that I don’t do any of those things. We had fun, talked, and had the radio on at a moderate level. We were as safe and I was as much in control as possible. For some reason, my mom seems to think that I was going to get into a wreck. Fine, I guess I won’t be hanging with my friends even once a year.

A couple of days go by, and it is a Tuesday and I step off of my bus at my home school to drive home. I decided to drive right up the street to see my friend (who will be referred to as) J at her local business to have a short chat with her before I went home. We talked for about half an hour. The night before, I had not charged my phone because I forgot to. All the crap my mom was putting me through caused me to forget to charge my phone. And for those of you that have iPhones, you will know that they are awesome phones, but they need 100% charge in the morning or they will drain in less than a day. That’s exactly what happened, too. My phone was dead. Now that I think about it, I probably should have went straight home, or even called my mother from J’s phone at her shop. I didn’t think about doing that, though. That was a mistake on my part. But really, when you think about it, what danger could I have been in? Our school bus could have broken down on the highway, but they would have been notified of that immediately. My car could have not started or I have gotten in a wreck on the way home (which is 3 miles), but they would have found out about that soon, too. The point is, not much could have happened.

The next thing I know, the door alarm at J’s shop goes off, and she yells “I’ll be right out!” I ask her if she wants me to get it since I had worked for her in the past in the front selling her products, and I went ahead and started to walk to the front. Guess whose lovely face greeted me? You guessed it; my mother’s. She was extremely angry and her first sentence was “give me your f*cking keys now.” Of course, I was sitting there with my jaw dropped, surprised that she would bring our problems into the public like this, and surprised at the fact that she would show so much disrespect towards J and her business. Being a business owner herself, my mother would not have appreciated this in her place of business. My mom also said that she tried to call up there to J’s store to find me because she thought I would be there. Not once did that phone ring. She accused us of ignoring her phone calls, and that never happened. (Later on, I got access to my mom’s mobile phone and looked at her outbound calls from that day and J’s number was nowhere to be found; so my mom lied to us.) The point is, my mom was there and completely chewed me out, and not wanting to make a scene in front of possible customers, I told my mother to leave the shop and go home. Before she left, she managed to yell “I hope J is going to take care of you because I’m done with your shit!” This angered J, which it rightfully should have. My mom had no business saying that to her. It is unacceptable.

So there I was with no car, no cell phone, and dead in the water. All I could do was cry in front of J. (I would just like to tell J now that I am very thankful for our friendship. Without her, I wouldn’t have gotten past these speed bumps in my life.) This was the worst experience in my life to date, and I was in awe of my mother’s carelessness. Here I am made the bad guy, which is the point of my writing all of this. I have been made to look like the bad guy so many times by my parents. I do my best and my work shows it, but yet somehow, I still get the tail end of things. Now I have no car and basically spend my day stuck at home answering phone calls all day to the night. My daily schedule consists of the following:

5:30AM – Wake up

6:30AM – Catch first bus to go to home school

7:20AM – Board bus to go to career school

8:05AM – 2:30PM – School

2:35 – Board bus to home school

3:00 – Arrive at home school, wait half an hour

3:30 – Ride Elementary bus home

3:45 – Arrive home

4:00 – 8:00 – Work for business while doing my homework at the same time

 

This is my daily schedule now. It is like this thanks to my mother and her stupid antics. I am so sick of being misunderstood and told that I am not going to go anywhere in life when I obviously am trying to go somewhere in life. All of this crap has caused me to resort back to my old ways, and I promised myself I would never go back to them. Oh well, I guess that’s another reason to be the Most Hated person as of now. Check out the song that is attached to this post. I think it is pretty much the story of my life at the moment.

With that, I bid you all a great rest of your week, and may the Earth’s positive energy be with you!

-claytech

SONG: Most Hated by Davina

 

Leave a Reply

